The Naden Band in Concert

The Naden Band of the Royal Canadian Navy, Canada's Navy band on the West Coast.

The Naden Band of the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN) is comprised of 35 professional full-time musicians whose primary role within the RCN is to support Naval Operations, ceremonial events, and generate public awareness, helping to facilitate a greater understanding of the role the RCN serves in protecting Canadian interests at home and abroad.

Over the past 75 years, the Naden Band has established and maintained a reputation of presenting audiences at home and abroad with musical performances of the highest calibre, while taking pride in making a difference within the communities it serves.

Under the direction of Lieutenant (N) Matthew Clark (CD), the band performs in a variety of large and small ensembles ranging from symphonic concert band, marching band, jazz band, Dixieland band, rock and contemporary ensembles as well as brass and woodwind quintets. 

Within the RCN, the Naden Band performs a number of ceremonial duties such as parades (Remembrance Day, Battle of Atlantic, Changes of Command), ship departures and arrivals, and military dinners. The band’s presence at such events helps to preserve naval customs and traditions while heightening morale and esprit de corps. 

Musical support is integral to many Governmental functions including the opening of the Provincial Legislature, official visits from heads of state, and other events in which the Lieutenant Governor, Prime Minister of Canada, Governor General of Canada or the Royal Family are present.

The Naden Band strives to serve as a role model within the local community by using music as a means to make positive change in the lives of others. In addition to supporting the Military Family Resource Centre and the United Way Government Workplace Charitable Campaign, the band maintains a number of community partnerships and outreach programs, including local music Cadets Corps and educational school concerts. The band has recently engaged in meaningful musical collaborations in the Greater Victoria Area including concerts with the University of Victoria’s School of Music and the Victoria Philharmonic Choir.

La Musique Naden de la Marine royale canadienne (MRC) est composée de 35 musiciens professionnels à temps plein dont le rôle principal est de soutenir les opérations navales et  les cérémonies de la MRC, sensibiliser le public, aider à faciliter une meilleure compréhension du rôle de la MRC dans la protection des intérêts du Canada au pays et à l’étranger.

Au cours des 75 dernières années, la Musique Naden a établi et maintenu une réputation de présenter des performances musicales de haut calibre à des auditoires au pays et à l’étranger, tout en étant fière de faire une différence dans les communautés qu’elle dessert.

Sous la direction du Lieutenant de vaisseau Matthew Clark (CD), le groupe se produit sous forme de divers ensembles petits et grands allant de l’ensemble de concert symphonique à la fanfare, en passant par l’orchestre de jazz, les groupes de Dixieland ou de rock et les ensembles de musique contemporaine ainsi que les quintettes de cuivres et de bois.

Au sein de la MRC, la Musique Naden effectue un certain nombre de fonctions cérémonielles lors des défilés (jour du Souvenir, Bataille de l’Atlantique, cérémonies de passation de commandement), les départs et arrivées de navires et les dîners militaires. La présence de la Musique lors de ces activités contribue à préserver les coutumes et traditions navales, tout en augmentant le moral et l’esprit de corps.

Le soutien musical est intégré à de nombreuses fonctions gouvernementales, telles que l’ouverture du parlement provincial, les visites officielles des chefs d’État et autres occasions où le lieutenant-gouverneur, le premier ministre du Canada, le gouverneur général du Canada ou la famille royale sont présents.

La Musique Naden s’efforce de servir de modèle au sein de la communauté locale en utilisant la musique comme un moyen d’apporter des changements positifs dans la vie d’autrui. En plus de soutenir le Centre de ressources pour les familles de militaires et la Campagne de charité en milieu de travail du gouvernement du Canada pour Centraide, la Musique est active dans un certain nombre de partenariats communautaires et de programmes de sensibilisation, dont la musique locale du corps de cadets et des concerts scolaires éducatifs. La Musique Naden a récemment participé à des collaborations musicales significatives dans la région du Grand Victoria, y compris lors de concerts avec l’École de musique de l’Université de Victoria et le Victoria Philharmonic Choir.